Youkilis is Golden

The American League Gold Glove winners were announced today and guess who won the Gold Glove at first base. It was Kevin Youkilis. It was a much deserved honor as the Red Sox first baseman didn’t make an error at first base during the regular season. He had 1,080 total chances and 990 putouts during the season for the World Champs.

2007 AL Gold Glove Winners

Youkilis is joined by four other first time Gold Glove winners on the 9-player team, second baseman Placido Polanco of the Tigers, third baseman Adrian Beltre from the Mariners, Grady Sizemore from the Indians and pitcher Johan Santana from the Twins. Tigers catcher Ivan Rodriguez snagged his 13th Gold Glove, while Mariners outfielder Ichiro Suzuki and Twins outfielder Torii Hunter each snagged their 7th consecutive Gold Gloves. Angels shortstop Orlando Cabrera won his second Gold Glove but first in the American League.

The 2007 National League Gold Glove winners after the jump.

2007 NL Gold Glove Winners

The 10 person National League team is headlined by Padres pitcher Greg Maddux’ 17th Gold Glove. There is 10 people on the NL squad due to a tie in the voting for outfielders.

There are 5 first time winners in the National League, Dodgers catcher Russell Martin, Mets third baseman David Wright, Phillies shortstop Jimmy Rollins, Braves outfielder Jeff Francoeur and Phillies outfielder Aaron Rowand. The rest of the team is Braves outfielder Andruw Jones who won his 10th, Cubs first baseman Derrek Lee who won his 3rd, Diamondbacks second baseman Orlando Hudson who won his 3rd as well, and Mets outfielder Carlos Beltran who won his second.