UNCASVILLE, Conn. – The American Athletic Conference announced its annual women’s basketball awards to cap the 2014-15 season and kick off the American Women’s Basketball Championship in Uncasville, Conn., March 6-9.

The All-Conference First Team includes student-athletes from three schools and is highlighted by four unanimous first team selections: Breanna Stewart (UConn), Courtney Williams (USF), Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis (UConn) and Moriah Jefferson (UConn).

UConn senior Kiah Stokes earned American Defensive Player of the Year honors while teammate Moriah Jefferson was chosen as the American Most Improved Player of the Year. Freshman Gabby Williams (UConn) and junior Ashley Clark (Tulsa) shared American Sixth Player of the Year accolades while Temple senior Tyonna Williams earned the league’s Sportsmanship Award. East Carolina junior I’Tiana Taylor was tabbed Newcomer of the Year.

Stokes ranks fourth nationally in blocks per game (4.17) and is one of four UConn players in program history with 300 career blocks. Jefferson leads the league with 2.6 steals per game, ranks first on the team in assists (139) and is one of seven Huskies shooting over 50-percent from the field. Williams is a two-time American Freshman of the Week selection and leads The American in field-goal percentage (.633), while Clark averages a team-best 14.0 points and 7.4 rebounds off the bench for Tulsa.

Williams has participated in many community service initiatives during her four years at Temple and was named to the Athletic Director’s Honor Roll for the past three years. Taylor, in her first year with the Pirates after transferring from Weatherford College, has seven double-doubles this season and four 20+ point performances under her belt.

The awards were voted on by the league’s 11 head coaches. Ties were not broken. The American Player of the Year, Freshman of the Year, Scholar-Athlete of the Year and Coach of the Year will be announced at a press conference on Friday, March 6 at Mohegan Sun Arena at 2 p.m. ET. The event will be streamed live at www.theamerican.org/dn.

American Defensive Player of the Year

Kiah Stokes, C, Sr., UConn

American Most Improved Player of the Year

Moriah Jefferson, G, Jr., UConn

American Sportsmanship Award

Tyonna Williams, G, Sr., Temple

American Sixth Player of the Year

Gabby Williams, G, Fr., UConn

Ashley Clark, G, Jr., Tulsa

American Newcomer of the Year

I’Tiana Taylor, F, Jr., East Carolina

All-Conference First Team

*Breanna Stewart, F, Jr., UConn

*Courtney Williams, G, Jr., USF

*Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis, F, Sr., UConn

*Moriah Jefferson, Jr., G, UConn

Jada Payne, F, R-Jr., East Carolina

Morgan Tuck, F, R-So., UConn

All-Conference Second Team

Alisia Jenkins, F, Jr., USF

Ariel Hearn, G, Jr., Memphis

Ashley Clark, G, Jr., Tulsa

Zykira Lewis, G, So., UCF

I’Tiana Taylor, Jr., F, East Carolina

Kiah Stokes, Sr., C, UConn

All-Conference Third Team

Erica Covile, G, Jr., Temple

Alliya Butts, G, Fr., Temple

Danielle Blagg, G, Sr., Tulane

Kolby Morgan, G, Fr., Tulane

Kia Nurse, G, Fr., UConn

All-Freshman Team

*Kia Nurse, G, Fr., UConn

*Alliya Butts, G, Fr., Temple

Kolby Morgan, G, Fr., Tulane

Ana Owens, G, Fr., Cincinnati

Alicia Froling, F, Fr., SMU

Laura Ferreira, F, Fr., USF

Gabby Williams, G, Fr., UConn

[*] denotes unanimous pick