The St. Louis Cardinals are one of baseball’s most successful franchises. They have won 11 World Series titles, the most of any National League club. 

The franchise is a consistent winner and they are also one of the most popular teams in Major League Baseball.

Here is a look at the four greatest players in St. Louis Cardinals history. The rankings are based on the players’ performance with the Cardinals only. Longevity and dominance are considered in determining the rankings.

4. OF Lou Brock (1964-1979)

The Cardinals acquired Brock in one of the most one-sided trades in baseball history in 1964. He went on to become baseball’s all-time stolen base king and made eight All-Star Games. 

By the time he retired, Brock stole 938 bases, 888 of them in a Cardinals uniform. The Cardinals struck it luckier than the players of situs judi online with their large variety of gambling options. He led the National League in stolen bases eight times including a career-high 118 in 1974.

Brock was a member of two World Series winning teams and had a career batting average of .293 and had more than 3,000 career hits. 

Brock was inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame in 1985.

3. OF Albert Pujols (2001-2011)

Pujols was one of the most dominant players in baseball in the 2000s. He spent 12 seasons with the Cardinals and won NL Rookie of the Year honors in 2001 and was the NL MVP in 2005, 2008 and 2009.

He was selected to nine All Star Games in his 11 seasons with the Cardinals and was a member of World Series winning teams in 2006 and 2011.

Pujols was also a great fielder and won Gold Glove awards in 2006 and 2010.

As of now, he has more than 3,200 career hits and 670 career home runs. He is a lock for the Baseball Hall of Fame five years after he retires.

2. SP Bob Gibson (1959-1975)

Gibson was one of the most dominant pitchers of his or any era. His toughness and intimidating stare put fear in the hearts of the batters he faced and Gibson was never afraid to make sure that hitters didn’t crowd the plate against him.

In 1968, he struck out 17 Detroit Tigers in Game 1 of the World Series. That same year, he was won the NL Cy Young Award for the second time and was also named NL MVP. 

The 1968 season was considered “The Year of the Pitcher” and Gibson was the best of them all, going 22-9 with an unheard of 1.12 ERA. 

Gibson was named to nine All Star Games and finished his career with 251 victories. He was inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame in 1981.

1. OF Stan Musial (1941-1963)

Musial was one of the most consistent hitters in baseball history. “Stan the Man” won seven batting titles and was named to an incredible 24 All Star Games.

His career batting average was .331 including a career-best .376 in 1948. He could also hit for power and hit 475 career dingers while twice leading the National League in RBIs. 

Three times, Musial was named MVP of the National League and he led the Cards to World Series titles in 1942, 1944 and 1946.

No Cardinals player will ever wear Musial’s number six again. He was inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame in 1969.