From UConn and the Atlanta Tipoff Club:

ATLANTA – UConn Huskies senior guard Ryan Boatright (Aurora, Ill.) has been named to the 50-player watch list for the James A. Naismith Trophy, presented annually by the Atlanta Tipoff Club to the College Player of the Year.

UConn G Ryan Boatright (11) tries to get his jumper over the outstretched arm of Texas C Cameron Ridley (55) in the second half at Gampel Pavilion.Boatright is one of just two players from the American Athletic Conference who made the list, the other being Nic Moore of SMU. Boatright, an All-Final Four selection last season as he helped the Huskies capture the NCAA Championship, has also been named to the watch lists of the John R. Wooden Award and the Bob Cousy Collegiate Point Guard of the Year Award.

Boatright currently leads the American Athletic Conference in scoring at 20.8 points per game is also averaging 6.2 rebounds, 4.0 assists, and 1.6 steals per game. He was the AAC Player of the Week for the week of Nov. 16-23 and has made the league’s weekly Honor Roll the other two weeks of the season. He was named the conference’s Preseason Player of the Year by a vote of the league’s coaches.

The Naismith Trophy list will be shortened to a Midseason 30 on Feb. 2, cut to 10 semifinalists on March 6, down to four finalists on March 22, and the winner will be named on April 5.

Name Class Pos School Conference
Cliff Alexander Fr. F Kansas Big 12
Brandon Ashley Jr. F Arizona Pac-12
Ron Baker RS Jr. G Wichita State Missouri Valley
Ryan Boatright Sr. G Connecticut American Athletic
Malcolm Brogdon RS Jr. G Virginia ACC
Willie Cauley-Stein Jr. F Kentucky SEC
Branden Dawson Sr. G-F Michigan State Big Ten
Sam Dekker Jr. F Wisconsin Big Ten
Perry Ellis Jr. F Kansas Big 12
Yogi Ferrell Jr. G Indiana Big Ten
Marcus Foster Soph. G Kansas State Big 12
Michael Frazier II Jr. G Florida SEC
Treveon Graham Sr. G-F VCU Atlantic 10
Jerian Grant Sr. G Notre Dame ACC
Olivier Hanlan Jr. G Boston College ACC
Montrezl Harrell Jr. F Louisville ACC
Aaron Harrison Soph. G Kentucky SEC
Tyler Haws Sr. G BYU West Coast
Buddy Hield Jr. G Oklahoma Big 12
Rondae Hollis-Jefferson Soph. F Arizona Pac-12
R.J. Hunter Jr. G Georgia State Sun Belt
Stanley Johnson Fr. G Arizona Pac-12
Tyus Jones Fr. G Duke ACC
Frank Kaminsky Sr. F Wisconsin Big Ten
Caris LeVert Jr. G Michigan Big Ten
Jordan Mickey Soph. F LSU SEC
Nic Moore RS Jr. G SMU American Athletic
Georges Niang Jr. F Iowa State Big 12
Jahlil Okafor Fr. C Duke ACC
Marcus Paige Jr. G North Carolina ACC
Kevin Pangos Sr. G Gonzaga West Coast
Terran Petteway Jr. F Nebraska Big Ten
Chasson Randle Sr. G Stanford Pac-12
Terry Rozier Soph. G Louisville ACC
D’Angelo Russell Fr. G Ohio State Big Ten
Wesley Saunders Sr. G-F Harvard Ivy League
Wayne Selden Jr. Soph. G Kansas Big 12
Winston Shepard Jr. F San Diego State Mountain West
D’Vauntes Smith-Rivera Jr. G Georgetown Big East
Juwan Staten Sr. G West Virginia Big 12
Keifer Sykes Sr. G Green Bay Horizon League
Isaiah Taylor Soph. G Texas Big 12
Karl-Anthony Towns Fr. F Kentucky SEC
Myles Turner Fr. F Texas Big 12
Fred VanVleet Jr. G Wichita State Missouri Valley
Rashad Vaughn Fr. G UNLV Mountain West
Alan Williams Sr. C UC Santa Barbara Big West
Justise Winslow Fr. F Duke ACC
Delon Wright Sr. G Utah Pac-12
Joseph Young RS Sr. G Oregon Pac-12

photo credit: ©2014 Ian Bethune