PROVIDENCE, R.I. (Feb. 26, 2014) – The American Athletic Conference unveiled the 2013 Football All-Academic squad late on Tuesday (Feb. 25), honoring 15 UConn players for their achievements off the field and in the classroom.

UConn HuskiesPer the conference, the All-Academic selections must have earned a minimum cumulative grade-point average of 3.00 through the Fall 2013 academic term and completed a minimum of two consecutive semesters, or three consecutive quarters of academic work, with a total of 18 semester or 27 quarter credits, not including remedial courses.

The 15 Huskies to earn the All-Academic nod are (with 2013 class): redshirt-senior tackle Jimmy Bennett (Alexandria, Va.), redshirt-freshman center Kyle Bockeloh (Houston, Texas), redshirt-sophomore safety Jeremy Claflin (West Hartford, Conn.), redshirt-freshman quarterback Casey Cochran (Monroe, Conn.), redshirt-senior guard Steve Greene (Ebensburg, Pa.), redshirt-junior cornerback Byron Jones (New Britain, Conn.), redshirt-freshman defensive lineman Andreas Knappe (Silkeborg, Denmark), redshirt freshman cornerback Ellis Marder (Windermere, Fla.), redshirt freshman defensive lineman Sean Marinan (Higganum, Conn.), redshirt-junior quarterback Scott McCummings (Natick, Mass.), redshirt-freshman safety Obi Melifonwu (South Grafton, Mass.), redshirt-junior long snapper Adam Mueller (Park Ridge, Ill.), redshirt-freshman guard Zach Rugg (Windber, Pa.), sophomore wide receiver Tony Tully (East Sandwich, Mass.), and redshirt-freshman punter Justin Wain (Wilmington, N.C.).

Follow Ian on Twitter @soxanddawgs. And be sure to like us on Facebook as well.