Comcast Connecticut Customers Gain Access to Top College Action on ESPNU

Comcast and ESPNU

BERLIN, CT– (July 20, 2009) – Comcast and ESPN today announced that ESPNU is now available to Comcast customers throughout Connecticut. The addition of ESPNU to Comcast’s digital line-up gives fans access to some of the best college sports programming, including action from the BIG EAST, America East and Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference featuring University of Connecticut, University of Hartford and Fairfield University games.

“ESPNU has been growing in popularity due to the dynamic sports match-ups we’ve been adding, and we are thrilled Comcast has added this network to its lineup,” said David C. Preschlack, Executive Vice President of Disney and ESPN Media Networks. “Fans will now have access to the best in college sports action through this agreement.”

“Comcast recognizes that the people of Connecticut are passionate about their local college sports teams, and we are proud to offer them all the best action from UConn and other local schools,” said Doug Guthrie, Senior Vice President of Comcast’s Western New England Region, which includes Connecticut. “The launch of ESPNU – along with the wealth of other sports networks we offer – delivers on Comcast’s commitment to being the top destination for sports fans for all the professional, college and high school sports action they want.”

ESPNU provides college sports fans with more than 550 live events annually and televises some of the top Division I conferences in the nation, including the ACC, BIG EAST, Big Ten, Big 12, MAC, SEC, Sun Belt and WAC. The network also has a wide-ranging, long-term agreement with the NCAA that includes extensive coverage of 22 NCAA Championships, including sports from each of the three collegiate seasons.

Beginning today, Connecticut fans can find ESPNU on channel 279 on the Comcast Digital Classic lineup, except as noted below:

  • In the towns of Andover, Avon, Berlin, Bloomfield, Bolton, Bristol, Burlington, Canton, East Hartford, Ellington, Farmington, Hartford, Hebron, Marlborough, New Britain, Plainville, Simsbury, Tolland, Vernon, West Hartford, and Windsor on Channel 735;
  • In the towns of Bozrah, Colchester, East Haddam, Franklin, Haddam Neck, Lisbon, Lyme, Norwich, Old Lyme, Preston, Salem and Sprague, on Channel 178; and
  • In the towns of Ansonia, Beacon Falls, Bethany, Derby, Middlebury, Naugatuck, Oxford, Plymouth, Prospect, Seymour, Shelton, Waterbury and Wolcott, on Channel 154.