The University of Connecticut announced on Tuesday its first class of women’s basketball to be inducted into “Huskies of Honor” recognition program. The “Huskies of Honor” is designed to recognize the top players and coaches from the men’s and women’s basketball teams.

The inaugural class consists of five former National Players of the Year, who were also All-Americans, and five other All-Americans. Also, Geno Auriemma, the current women’s coach will be honored as well. The five former National Players of the Year are Rebecca Lobo (1995), Jennifer Rizzotti (1996), Kara Wolters (1997), Sue Bird (2002), and Diana Taurasi (2003 and 2004). The other five inductees are Kerry Bascom, Nykesha Sales, Shea Ralph, Svetlana Abrsoimova, and Swin Cash.

They all will be honored following the Dec 21st game versus Colorado State at Gampel Pavilion. Only Shea Ralph and Svetlana Abrsoimova will not be present due to previous commitments.

Congratulations go out to the 11 inductees.

TechnoratiTechnorati: , , ,