I’m pretty sure in the past, we’ve never known who the finalists are for the Gold Gloves at their respective positions. But this year, we now know that four members of the 2011 Boston Red Sox are finalists for Gold Gloves.

Rawlings Gold Glove AwardThey are Adrian Gonzalez (1B), Dustin Pedroia (2B), Kevin Youkilis (3B) and Jacoby Ellsbury (OF).

Also for the first time ever, ESPN2 will be announcing the Gold Glove awards during the Rawlings Gold Glove Show which will be done in the Baseball Tonight studios.

Here’s the release from ESPN on that:

ESPN2 will televise the first-ever Rawlings Gold Glove Awards Show – emanating from ESPN’s Baseball Tonight studio in Bristol – Tuesday, Nov. 1, at 10 p.m. ET. The one-hour telecast, hosted by Baseball Tonight’s Karl Ravech with analysts John Kruk and Barry Larkin (a three-time Gold Glove winner – 1994, 1995, 1996), will include the announcement of the 2011 Gold Glove Award winners and extensive highlights and analysis of the best defensive performers and plays during the MLB regular season.

The Rawlings Gold Glove Awards are presented annually to the best defensive Major League Baseball players in both the American League and National League at every fielding position. All 18 Gold Glove Award winners, one for each position in each league, will be announced during the telecast. Guest presenters Omar Vizquel (11-time Gold Glove winner) and Mike Matheny (four-time winner) will join ESPN Baseball Tonight analysts during the show.

Rawlings Platinum Gold Glove Award™

The 2011 Rawlings Gold Glove Awards Show telecast will include the introduction of the Rawlings Platinum Gold Glove Award. The 18 Rawlings Gold Glove winners will be eligible for the inaugural Rawlings Platinum Glove Award, with the winner to be determined by fan voting on the Rawlings, ESPN and ESPN Baseball Tonight Facebook pages. Voting will begin after the 2011 Rawlings Gold Glove Awards Show telecast Nov. 1 and conclude Nov. 7, with the announcement of the winners on Friday, Nov. 11, at the Rawlings Gold Glove Award Ceremony in New York, and via ESPN Baseball Tonight’s Facebook page and Twitter account.

To see the full list of nominees for the 2011 Rawlings Gold Glove Awards from the American League and National League, please click on the read more button below if you’re on the home page.

Category American League Nominees National League Nominees
Pitcher Mark Buehrle, CWS


Dan Haren, LAA

Fausto Carmona, CLE

Clayton Kershaw, LAD


Hiroki Kuroda, LAD

Kyle Lohse, STL



Matt Wieters, BAL


A.J. Pierzynski, CWS

Alex Avila, DET

Yadier Molina, STL


Brian McCann, ATL

Carlos Ruiz, PHI

First Base Adrian Gonzalez, BOS


Casey Kotchman, TB

Mark Teixeira, NYY

Joey Votto, CIN


Gaby Sanchez, FLA

James Loney, LAD

Second Base Dustin Pedroia , BOS


Robinson Cano, NYY

Ian Kinsler, TEX

Brandon Phillips, CIN


Neil Walker, PIT

Omar Infante, FLA

Shortstop Erick Aybar, LAA


J.J. Hardy, BAL

Asdrubal Cabrera, CLE

Troy Tulowitzki, COL


Ronny Cedeno, PIT

Alex Gonzalez, ATL

Third Base Adrian Beltre, TEX


Kevin Youkilis, BOS

Evan Longoria, TB

Placido Polanco, PHI


Daniel Descalso, STL

Pablo Sandoval, SFG

Left Field Alex Gordon, KC


Brett Gardner, NYY

Sam Fuld, TB

Gerardo Parra, ARI


Ryan Braun, MIL

Matt Holliday, STL

Center Field Jacoby Ellsbury, BOS


Austin Jackson, DET

Peter Bourjos, LAA

Matt Kemp, LAD


Shane Victorino, PHI

Chris Young, ARI

Right Field Nick Markakis, BAL


Torii Hunter, LAA

Jeff Francoeur, KC

Andre Ethier, LAD


Carlos Beltran, NYM/SFG

Jay Bruce, CIN