Naismith AwardThe Atlanta Tipoff Club was busy today as they were gathering up the names for the Naismith National Coach of the Year and the Naismith Women’s College Basketball Player of the Year.

Fortunately for the UConn Huskies women’s basketball team, Geno Auriemma has been chosen as a candidate for the coach of the year award. Joining him as a finalist are Oklahoma’s Sherri Coale, Auburn’s Nell Fortner and South Dakota State’s Aaron Johnston.

Auriemma won the award last year and has won it 5 previous times in his career.

The player of the year candidates has a UConn flavor as well as senior Renee Montgomery and sophomore Maya Moore are 2 of the 4 finalists. Joining the dynamic duo are Louisville’s Angel McCoughtry and Oklahoma’s Courtney Paris.

The winners of both awards will be announced in early April.