MEMPHIS, Tenn. – UConn senior Shabazz Napier (Roxbury, Mass.)  is one of  three unanimous selections to the 2014 American Athletic Conference All-Conference first team, the league announced Tuesday.

UConn HuskiesThe Huskies' star guard, who was a first team All-Big East pick last season and a Big East All-Rookie Team selection in 2010-11, leads the team in scoring, rebounding, assists, steals, and minutes played as UConn heads into The American 2014 Championship later this week at the FedExForum in Memphis. The Huskies stand 24-7 on the season and finished 12-6 in the league, tied for third place with SMU and Memphis.

In addition, UConn freshman center Amida Brimah (Accra, Ghana) was named to the league's All-Rookie Team.

Cincinnati's Sean Kilpatrick and Louisville's Russ Smith were also unanimous picks to the first team, which is selected by a vote of the league's 10 head coaches, none of whom are allowed to vote for their own players. Along with Napier, all three are finalists for the John R. Wooden Award, which goes to the nation's best player.

Joining the three star senior guards on the first team are Louisville sophomore forward Montrezl Harrell and SMU sophomore guard Nic Moore. One of the five will be named the league's Player of the Year on Wednesday.

In American Athletic Conference games, Napier ranked among the league leaders in numerous categories. He finished second in scoring (19.3), third in assists (4.7), second in free throw percentage (.901), fifth in steals (1.8), fifth in three-pointers made (2.3), fifth in defensive rebounds (4.8), fourth in minutes played (35.1), 14th in three-point field goal percentage (.360), and 13th in overall rebounding (5.7).

He was named The American Conference Player of the Week five times and was on the league's weekly Honor Roll nine times. Besides the Wooden Award, he is also on the final watch list for the Oscar Robertson Trophy, the Naismith Trophy, the Senior CLASS Award, and the Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award.

Named to the all-conference second team are UCF's Isaiah Sykes, Cincinnati's Justin Jackson, Houston's TaShawn Thomas, Memphis' Shaq Goodwin and  Joe Jackson, and SMU's Markus Kennedy.

Brimah has played in all 31 UConn games this season, starting 17. He is averaging 4.0 points, 2.8 rebounds, and leads the team in blocked shots with 77. His 2.2 blocked shots averaged was second in the American Athletic Conference.

Named to the All-Rookie Team with Brimah was Memphis' Austin Nichols (unanimous), Louisville's Terry Rozier, and the USF duo of John Egbunu and Chris Perry.

The league will announce its Player of the Year, Rookie of the Year, Coach of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year, Scholar-Athlete, Most Improved Player, Sixth Man Award, and Sportsmanship Award on Wednesday afternoon at an awards luncheon in Memphis.

2014 American Athletic Conference All-Conference First Team

Sean Kilpatrick, G, Cincinnati *

Shabazz Napier, G, UConn *

Montrezl Harrell, F, Louisville

Russ Smith, G, Louisville *

Nic Moore, G, SMU

 2014 American Athletic Conference All-Conference Second Team

Isaiah Sykes, G, UCF

Justin Jackson, F, Cincinnati

TaShawn Thomas, F, Houston

Shaq Goodwin, F, Memphis

Joe Jackson, G, Memphis

Markus Kennedy, F, SMU

 2014 American Athletic Conference All-Rookie Team

Amida Brimah, C, UConn

Terry Rozier, G, Louisville

Austin Nichols, F, Memphis *

John Egbunu, C, USF

Chris Perry, F, USF

 * unanimous selection

Follow Ian on Twitter @soxanddawgs. And be sure to like us on Facebook as well.