Kevin Youkilis, Dustin Pedroia, Jon Lester

For the second straight season, Boston Red Sox first baseman Kevin Youkilis has been chosen by the Boston chapter of the Baseball Writers’ Association of America as the winner of the Jackie Jensen Award.

The award is named for the late Red Sox outfielder, who starred with Boston from 1954-59 and 1961 and is presented annually to a major league player for “spirit and determination. He is just the second two-time winner of the award as Johnny Damon won it in 2004 and 2005.

Dustin Pedroia also picked up another piece of hardware as he was named the Red Sox MVP. He is the first second baseman ever to be named as MVP of the Red Sox.

Jon Lester was named as the Red Sox Pitcher of the Year. Lester went 16-6 during the season and is the first Red Sox lefty to win the award since Bruce Hurst won it back in 1988.

Other members of the Red Sox to win awards from the BBWAA are:

  • Jacoby Ellsbury – Red Sox Rookie of the Year
  • Jonathan Papelbon – Red Sox Fireballer of the Year
  • Sean Casey – Good Guy Award
  • Jeff Bailey – Red Sox Minor League Award
  • Jason McLeod (director of amateur scouting) – Red Sox Unsung Hero Award

The awards will be presented at the 70th BBWAA Awards Dinner, which will be held on Thursday, January 8 at the Westin Waterfront Hotel in South Boston.