Walter CampEvery year about 5 miles from my house, All-American football players take over the city of New Haven for the Walter Camp Weekend and Annual Awards Dinner. The event will take place the weekend of January 10-12, 2008 and you can find out all the information by clicking the above link.

For those who don’t know who Walter Camp is, he is known as “the father of football”. He is the one who made the basic principles and the rules for modern day football.

Two weeks ago, the Walter Camp Football Foundation announced three of the awards they will be giving away that weekend. Frank Broyles was named as the recipient of the Distinguished American Award, Dick Butkus will receive the Man of the Year Award and Ray Guy was named as the winner of the Alumni Award. Still to be announced are the Coach of the Year and CT Player of the Year, which is given to a player from Connecticut participating in college football.

On Thursday, the Walter Camp Football Foundation announced it’s 2007 Walter Camp All-American Team and it’s Player of the Year Award.

This year, the Player of the Year went to Arkansas Razorbacks running back Darren McFadden. He rushed for 1,725 yards and 15 touchdowns on the season.

A look at the rest of the team after the jump.


  • WR Michael Crabtree, Texas Tech Fr.
  • WR Jordy Nelson, Kansas State Jr.
  • TE Travis Beckum, Wisconsin Jr.
  • OL Jake Long, Michigan Sr.
  • OL Sam Baker, USC Sr.
  • OL Anthony Collins, Kansas Jr.
  • OL Tony Hills, Texas Sr.
  • C Jonathan Luigs, Arkansas Jr.
  • QB Tim Tebow, Florida Soph.
  • RB Darren McFadden, Arkansas Jr.
  • RB Kevin Smith, Central Florida Jr.
  • PK John Sullivan, New Mexico Sr.


  • DL Glenn Dorsey, LSU Sr.
  • DL Chris Long, Virginia Sr.
  • DL George Selvie, South Florida Soph.
  • DL Sedrick Ellis, USC Sr.
  • LB Dan Connor, Penn State Sr.
  • LB James Laurinaitis – Ohio State Jr.
  • LB Jordon Dizon, Colorado Sr.
  • DB Aqib Talib, Kansas Jr.
  • DB Antoine Cason, Arizona Sr.
  • DB Craig Steltz, LSU Sr.
  • DB Jamie Silva, Boston College Sr.
  • P Kevin Huber, Cincinnati Jr.
  • KR Felix Jones, Arkansas Jr.


  • WR Mario Manningham, Michigan Jr.
  • WR James Hardy, Indiana Jr.
  • WR Devone Bess, Hawaii Jr.
  • TE Marvin Rucker, Missouri Sr.
  • OL Ryan Clady, Boise State Jr.
  • OL Barry Richardson, Clemson Sr.
  • OL Ryan Stanchek, West Virginia Jr.
  • OL Duke Robinson, Oklahoma Jr.
  • C Steve Justice, Wake Forest Sr.
  • QB Chase Daniel, Missouri Jr.
  • RB Michael Hart, Michigan Sr.
  • RB Ray Rice, Rutgers Jr.
  • PK Thomas Weber, Arizona State Fr.


  • DL Vernon Gholston, Ohio State Jr.
  • DL Greg Middleton, Indiana Soph
  • DL Greg Hardy, Mississippi Soph.
  • DL Bruce Davis, UCLA Sr.
  • DL Jonal Saint-Dic, Michigan State Sr.
  • LB J Leman, Illinois Sr.
  • LB Keith Rivers, USC Sr.
  • LB Shawn Crable, Michigan Sr.
  • DB Alphonso Smith, Wake Forest Jr.
  • DB Malcolm Jenkins, Ohio State Sr.
  • DB Trey Brown, UCLA Sr.
  • DB Brandon Flowers, Virginia Tech Jr.
  • P Durant Brooks, Georgia Tech Sr.
  • KR Kevin Robinson, Utah State Sr.