Alabama running back Mark Ingram stands with the Heisman Trophy after being named the 75th Heisman Trophy winner on Saturday, Dec. 12, 2009 in New York - AP PhotoIn what was the closest vote in the history of the Heisman Trophy, University of Alabama Crimson Tide running back Mark Ingram was named the 75th winner of the Heisman Trophy.

He is the first winner in the storied history of Alabama football.

Ingram finished with 1,304 points,  just 28 points ahead of Stanford Cardinal running back Toby Gerhart. Texas Longhorns quarterback Colt McCoy finished third while Nebraska Cornhuskers defensive stud Ndamukong Suh finished fourth. Florida Gators QB, the 2007 Heisman winner, finished a distant 5th.

Ingram rushed for 1,542 yards and 18 touchdowns in leading the Crimson Tide to the SEC title and also the  National Championship game against McCoy’s Longhorns.

2009 Heisman Trophy Voting
Player 1st place Total
Mark Ingram 227 1,304
Toby Gerhart 222 1,276
Colt McCoy 203 1,145
Ndamukong Suh
161 815
Tim Tebow 43 390