From UConn:

TAMPA, Fla. — Hours before tip off at Amalie Arena for the 2015 national championship game, University of Connecticut junior forward Breanna Stewart was tabbed as the winner of the 2015 Naismith Trophy, as announced by the Atlanta Tipoff Club on Tuesday.

UConn's Breanna Stewart (30) gets ready to shoot a three during the game between the UConn Huskies and Maryland Terrapins at the 2015 NCAA Women's Final Four at Amalie Arena in Tampa, FL.

UConn’s Breanna Stewart wins her second straight Naismith Award to add to her collection.

UConn has won more Women’s Naismith Trophies than any other school — now with a total of nine. Stewart, who won the award in 2014, becomes the third Husky to win the award in multiple seasons, joining Maya Moore (2009, 2011) and Diana Taurasi (2003, 2004).

Stewart was announced as the award winner from among a field of finalists that included University of Notre Dame junior Jewell Loyd, University of South Carolina junior Tiffany Mitchell, and University of Minnesota sophomore Amanda Zahui B.

“We’d like to congratulate all of this year’s finalists, whose individual and team successes have been inspiring to fans across the country — especially those that voted to select the winner,” said Jamie Kerr, director, AT&T Corporate Sponsorships. “By winning her second straight Naismith Trophy, Breanna Stewart joins a very elite group of college athletes, and we applaud her for all of her accomplishments.”

Stewart was selected as the Associated Press, USBWA, and WBCA National Player of the Year this week during the Huskies’ trip to the Final Four.

At 1,952 career points Stewart stands at No. 11 on the program’s all-time scoring list. Additionally, she ranks fifth in Husky history with 284 career blocks. Since Stewart joined the program in the 2012-13 campaign, Connecticut owns a 112-5 (.957) overall record, including a 17-0 record in NCAA Tournament play, and has won two-straight national championships.

The Huskies and Irish will square off in the NCAA title game on Tuesday, April 7 at 8:30 p.m. on ESPN.