From UConn:

TAMPA, Fla. ­– Hours after being tabbed as the 2015 Wade Trophy winner, University of Connecticut junior forward Breanna Stewart (Syracuse, N.Y.) was selected as the 2015 Associated Press National Player of the Year for the second-straight season, as announced on Saturday.

UConn's Breanna Stewart has now won two straight AP Player of the Year awards.

UConn’s Breanna Stewart has now won two straight AP Player of the Year awards.

Stewart joins former Husky great Maya Moore as the only players to win the award on multiple occasions. In total, the UConn program boasts 10 AP Player of the Year awards by eight different players.

A WBCA, USWBA and AP All-American, Stewart stands at No. 11 on the program’s all-time scoring list with 1,927 points in her first 113 games in a Husky uniform. Additionally, she ranks fifth in school history with 280 career blocks. Since Stewart joined the program in the 2012-13 campaign, Connecticut owns a 111-5 (.957) record and has won two-straight national championships.

The Husky forward was named as the Albany Regional’s Most Outstanding Player after averaging 27.0 points and 14.0 rebounds in a pair of UConn victories over Texas and Dayton. On Tuesday, she was one of three Huskies to earn an All-America nod from the USWBA. The 2014-15 American Athletic Conference Player of the Year has reached double-figure points in 15 of her 16 career NCAA Tournament games, all of which have been Husky victories.

Earlier on Saturday, she became the sixth different Husky player to win the Wade Trophy.

The Huskies are set to make their eighth-straight appearance in the NCAA Final Four when they take on Maryland on Sunday, April 5 at 9 p.m. on ESPN.