Oscar Robertson Trophy LogoThe United States Basketball Writers Association of America (USBWA) has announced the 15 finalists for the Oscar Robertson Trophy and UConn Huskies junior center Hasheem Thabeet is among the finalists.

The Oscar Robertson Trophy is awarded to the USBWA’s Player of the Year. It is the nation’s oldest award and the only one named after a former player. The legendary Oscar Robertson was the USBWA’s first player of the year in 1959. The USBWA renamed its player of the year award the Oscar Robertson Trophy in 1998.

North Carolina senior Tyler Hansbrough won the award last year and is looking to repeat, something that hasn’t been since 1981-1983 when Ralph Sampson won it 3 straight times.

The award will be handed out on April 3rd at the USBWA’s annual awards breakfast at the downtown Detroit Athletic Club in conjunction with the Men’s Final Four.

Pos. No. Player, School Ht. Wt. Yr. Hometown
F 45 DeJuan Blair, Pittsburgh 6-7 265 So. Pittsburgh, Pa.
G 4 Sherron Collins, Kansas 5-11 200 Jr. Chicago, Ill.
F 33 Dante Cunningham, Villanova 6-8 230 Sr. Silver Spring, Md.
G 30 Stephen Curry, Davidson 6-3 185 Jr. Charlotte, N.C.
G 12 Tyreke Evans, Memphis 6-6 219 Fr. Chester, Pa.
F 23 Blake Griffin, Oklahoma 6-10 251 So. Oklahoma City, Okla.
F 50 Tyler Hansbrough, North Carolina 6-9 250 Sr. Poplar Bluff, Mo.
F 44 Luke Harangody, Notre Dame 6-8 255 Jr. Schererville, Ind.
G 13 James Harden, Arizona State 6-5 218 So. Los Angeles, Calif.
G 5 Ty Lawson, North Carolina 5-11 195 Jr. Clinton, Md.
G 22 Jerel McNeal, Marquette 6-3 200 Sr. Chicago, Ill.
G 23 Jodie Meeks, Kentucky 6-4 208 Jr. Norcross, Ga.
C 34 Hasheem Thabeet, Connecticut 7-3 263 Jr. Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania
G 0 Jeff Teague, Wake Forest 6-2 180 So. Indianapolis, Ind.
G/F 21 Evan Turner, Ohio State 6-7 205 So. Chicago, Ill.