From UConn:

Springfield, Mass. – University of Connecticut senior guard Ryan Boatright (Aurora, Ill.) has been named as a candidate for the 2015 Bob Cousy Award, as announced by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame on Tuesday.

Bob Cousy AwardThe annual honor, named for Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic Bob Cousy, recognizes the top point guards in men’s college basketball. Over 35 candidates have been nominated for the 2015 Bob Cousy Award.

Boatright, the 2014 American Athletic Conference Preseason Player of the Year, averaged 12.1 points a game and 3.5 rebounds for the Huskies last season. The Connecticut standout was named to the All-Final Four Team and finished his 2013-14 campaign second on the team in steals (61) and assists (131.)

Last season, former UConn guard Shabazz Napier won the award after leading the Huskies in points (18.0), assists (4.9) and steals (1.8).

This watch list of candidates will be narrowed down to a final 20 in early February, then final five by early March. A premier Selection Committee has been appointed by the Hall of Fame to review the candidates in contention for the nation’s top collegiate point guard award. This committee is made up of top college basketball personnel including members of the media, head coaches, media relations contacts and Hall of Famers.

The Cousy Award winner will be presented the award on Championship Monday in Indianapolis at the Hall of Fame’s Class of 2015 Announcement and Press Conference.

2015 Bob Cousy Award Candidates

  • Olivier Hanlan Boston College
  • Quinn Cook Duke University
  • Tyus Jones Duke University
  • D’Vauntes Smith-Rivera Georgetown University
  • Kevin Pangos Gonzaga University
  • Siyani Chambers Harvard University
  • Yogi Ferrell Indiana University
  • Monte Morris Iowa State University
  • Kenneth Smith Louisiana Tech University
  • Cameron Payne Murray State University
  • Chasson Randle Stanford University
  • Will Cummings Temple University
  • Alex Caruso Texas A&M University
  • T.J. McConnell University of Arizona
  • Ryan Boatright University of Connecticut
  • Kasey Hill University of Florida
  • Andrew Harrison University of Kentucky
  • Tyler Ulis University Kentucky
  • Terry Rozier University of Louisville
  • Romelo Trimble University of Maryland
  • Angel Rodriguez University of Miami
  • Derrick Walton Jr. University of Michigan
  • Jarvis Summers University of Mississippi
  • Marcus Paige University of North Carolina
  • Pierria Henry University of North Carolina (Charlotte)
  • Jordan Woodard University of Oklahoma
  • EC Matthews University of Rhode Island
  • Isaiah Taylor University of Texas
  • Julius Brown University of Toledo
  • Delon Wright University of Utah
  • London Perrantes University of Virginia
  • Keifer Sykes University of Wisconsin-Green Bay
  • Ryan Arcidiacono Villanova University
  • Briante Weber Virginia Commonwealth University
  • Juwan Staten West Virginia University
  • Fred VanVleet Wichita State University