It’s official. George DeLeone has been named the new offensive coordinator for the UConn Huskies football team. Here’s the release from UConn:

STORRS, Conn. – George DeLeone, a 1970 University of Connecticut graduate and a veteran coach of 40 football seasons, has been named the offensive coordinator on the UConn staff under new head coach Paul Pasqualoni.

George DeLeone is the new offensive coordinator at UConn.The New Haven, Conn., native has coached in 12 bowl games, including the Fiesta, Gator and Orange Bowl. He returns to the college ranks after serving as the tight ends coach for the Miami Dolphins since 2008 as he helped lead the team to the AFC East championship in 2008.

DeLeone and Pasqualoni have a long coaching history together as they have been on the same staff, both professionally and collegiately, for 25 years. DeLeone was part of Pasqualoni’s staff for 13 of the 14 years that Pasqualoni was the head coach at Syracuse (1991-2004). The only year that DeLeone was not on that staff was in 1997 when he was the offensive line coach for the San Diego Chargers.

DeLeone and Pasqualoni were both assistant coaches at Syracuse from 1987-90 and were together at Southern Connecticut from 1976-79 as DeLeone was the head coach and Pasqualoni was an assistant. They were on the same staff of the Dolphins in 2008-09.

“It is a tremendous honor to return to UConn,” says DeLeone. “It is my school and I am excited to continue the development of the success that the program has enjoyed in recent years. It is also special to be working again with Coach Pasqualoni. He is a man of great values and standards. He treats student-athletes in a positive manner in terms of how that should compete and work. He wants student-athletes to get values out of football that they will have for the rest of their lives. I am in sync with him in what we believe in. We have had some good runs together and I hope to have that same type of success with him here at Connecticut.”

Prior to joining the Dolphins, DeLeone was the offensive coordinator at Temple (2006-07) and the run game coordinator/offensive line coach in 2005.

“George is going to be an outstanding addition to our football coaching staff here at Connecticut,” says Pasqualoni. “He brings an outstanding background and a high level of experience in Division I and professional football. George is one of the most highly respected coaches in the country on all levels of football. As we build our staff here, I think it is important to have people who have ties to the area and the University which George certainly has.”

To continue reading, click on the read more button below if you’re on the home page.

He originally joined the Syracuse staff in 1985 and was the offensive line coach for two seasons before becoming the offensive coordinator in 1987. Following his year with the Chargers, he returned to SU seven more seasons as the defensive coordinator in 1998 and the offensive coordinator from 1999-2004.

During his career at Syracuse, the Orange played in 12 bowl games, posting an 8-3-1 record. While working with the offensive line at SU, five of his players were drafted by the NFL and as offensive coordinator, five players were named first team All-American. Syracuse won three BIG EAST Championships during DeLeone’s tenure there – 1996, 1998 and 2004.

He served as the offensive coordinator at Holy Cross in 1984 and was on the Rutgers staff from 1980-83, serving in a number of roles, including defensive coordinator from 1981-82.

DeLeone began his coaching career at Southern Connecticut as an assistant coach in 1970 and was the head coach of the Owls from 1970-75.

DeLeone graduated from UConn in 1970 with a degree in physical education and earned a master’s degree in physical education from Southern Connecticut in 1971. He is a graduate of Fairfield Prep (Conn.) High School. Born on May 9, 1948, he is the father of two sons – Andy and Mark.


Year School/Team Position

  • 1970 Southern Connecticut Offensive Line Coach Eastern Football Conference Champions
  • 1971 Southern Connecticut Offensive Line Coach
  • 1972 Southern Connecticut Offensive Line Coach
  • 1973 Southern Connecticut Offensive Line Coach
  • 1974 Southern Connecticut Offensive Line Coach
  • 1975 Southern Connecticut Offensive Line Coach
  • 1976 Southern Connecticut Head Coach
  • 1977 Southern Connecticut Head Coach
  • 1978 Southern Connecticut Head Coach
  • 1979 Southern Connecticut Head Coach
  • 1980 Rutgers Defensive Line Coach
  • 1981 Rutgers Defensive Coordinator/LBs
  • 1982 Rutgers Defensive Coordinator/LBs
  • 1983 Rutgers Offensive Line/Special Teams Coach
  • 1984 Holy Cross Offensive Coordinator/Off. Line
  • 1985 Syracuse Offensive Line Coach Cherry Bowl
  • 1986 Syracuse Offensive Line Coach
  • 1987 Syracuse Offensive Coordinator/Off. Line Sugar Bowl (Tie)
  • 1988 Syracuse Offensive Coordinator/Off. Line Hall of Fame Bowl Champions
  • 1989 Syracuse Offensive Coordinator/Off. Line Peach Bowl Champions
  • 1990 Syracuse Offensive Coordinator/Off. Line Aloha Bowl Champions
  • 1991 Syracuse Offensive Coordinator/Off. Line Hall of Fame Bowl Champions
  • 1992 Syracuse Offensive Coordinator/Off. Line Fiesta Bowl Champions
  • 1993 Syracuse Offensive Coordinator/Off. Line
  • 1994 Syracuse Offensive Coordinator/Off. Line
  • 1995 Syracuse Offensive Coordinator/Off. Line Gator Bowl Champions
  • 1996 Syracuse Offensive Coordinator/Off. Line Liberty Bowl Champions
  • 1997 San Diego Chargers Offensive Line Coach
  • 1998 Syracuse Defensive Coordinator/LBs Orange Bowl
  • 1999 Syracuse Offensive Coordinator/Off. Line Music City Bowl Champions
  • 2000 Syracuse Offensive Coordinator/QBs
  • 2001 Syracuse Asst. Head Coach/OC/Off. Line Insight Bowl Champions
  • 2002 Syracuse Asst. Head Coach/OC/Off. Line
  • 2003 Syracuse Asst. Head Coach/OC/Off. Line
  • 2004 Syracuse Asst. Head Coach/OC/Off. Line Champs Sports Bowl
  • 2005 Mississippi Offensive Line Coach/Run Game Coordinator
  • 2006 Temple Offensive Coordinator/QBs
  • 2007 Temple Offensive Coordinator/Off. Line
  • 2008 Miami Dolphins Tight Ends Coach AFC East Champions
  • 2009 Miami Dolphins Tight Ends Coach
  • 2010 Miami Dolphins Tight Ends Coach