Dustin Pedroia - 2008 Silver Slugger Award winner

Boston Red Sox second baseman Dustin Pedroia may need to add a trophy room to his house in Arizona as he won the 2008 Silver Slugger Award for being the top offensive player at second base in the American League.

Pedroia hit .326 with 17 home runs, 83 RBI and 20 stolen bases. He also had a league-leading 54 doubles and was tied with Ichiro Suzuki with a MLB-high 213 hits. Plus he led the AL with 118 runs scored and 61 multi-hit games.

Before Pedroia’s double-double (Gold Glove and Silver Slugger), only Jason Varitek in 2005, Ellis Burks in 1990 and Dwight “Dewey” Evans in 1981 won both awards as members of the Red Sox in the same season.

Pedroia is considered to be one of the leading candidates for the American League MVP which will be announced on Tuesday afternoon at 2 PM by the Baseball Writers Association of America (BBWAA).

Here is the full list of winners in both the AL & NL:

American League
1B – Justin Morneau, Minnesota Twins
2B – Dustin Pedroia, Boston Red Sox
3B – Alex Rodriguez, New York Yankees
SS – Derek Jeter, New York Yankees
OF – Josh Hamilton, Texas Rangers
OF – Carlos Quentin, Chicago White Sox
OF – Grady Sizemore, Cleveland Indians
C – Joe Mauer, Minnesota Twins
DH – Aubrey Huff, Baltimore Orioles

National League
1B – Albert Pujols, St. Louis Cardinals
2B – Chase Utley, Philadelphia Phillies
3B – David Wright, New York Mets
SS – Hanley Ramirez, Florida Marlins
OF – Matt Holliday, Colorado Rockies
OF – Ryan Ludwick, St. Louis Cardinals
OF – Ryan Braun, Milwaukee Brewers
C – Brian McCann, Atlanta Braves
P – Carlos Zambrano, Chicago Cubs