While they’ve been in the American Athletic Conference, the UConn women’s basketball team has been rarely tested by an opponent. And given how they rolled through conference play and the first two games of the conference tournament, you would have thought it would have been an easy game.

However, the South Florida Bulls had other ideas.

Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis

Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis had 23 points and was named the Most Outstanding Player of the Tournament.

They threw their best punches at the UConn Huskies but unfortunately they didn’t get their Buster Douglas beating Mike Tyson moment on Monday night as they lost 84-70 to the Huskies at Mohegan Sun Arena in the 2015 American Athletic Conference Women’s Basketball Tournament Championship game.

It’s the second straight American Athletic Conference title for the UConn women’s basketball team and the 20th time they’ve won a conference tournament title. It was also the closest game the Huskies have had in their two seasons in the conference.

For the third straight game, Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis led UConn in scoring with 23 points and had a team-high six assists. She was named the Tournament’s Most Outstanding Player.

Both Breanna Stewart and Morgan Tuck added double-doubles for the American champions. Stewart had 22 points and 12 rebounds while Tuck had 17 points and 10 rebounds. Moriah Jefferson chipped in with 14 points, five rebounds and five assists.

Shaleth Stringfield paced the Bulls with 20 points. Tamara Taylor added 17 points while Courtney Williams had 16 points. Alisia Jenkins added 10 points and a team-high four rebounds.

Both teams now await their NCAA Women’s Basketball Tournament destination.

The odds are that the UConn women’s basketball team will be the No. 1 overall seed and host a first and second round game. Until that is announced on March 16, UConn will practice and fine tune their well-oiled machine.

UConn Huskies vs South Florida Bulls 2015 American Athletic Conference Tournament Championship box score

Here are the game notes from the American Athletic Conference.

Postgame quotes will be added when they become available.