From the American Athletic Conference:

PROVIDENCE, R.I. – After emerging from a winner-take-all game for the American Athletic Conference regular-season title with a 67-62 victory Sunday, SMU has earned the No. 1 seed for the 2015 American Athletic Conference Men’s Basketball Championship.

The Mustangs entered the final day of the regular season tied with Tulsa for the top spot in the conference standings, but rode a 16-point, seven rebound effort by forward Markus Kennedy to the five-point win against the Golden Hurricane, giving SMU its first regular-season conference title since 1993.

The American Athletic Conference Championship takes place March 12-15 at the XL Center in Hartford, Connecticut. Tickets are available online at, in person at the XL Center box office, or by telephone at 877-522-8499.

The tournament will be televised in its entirety on the ESPN Networks, with Sunday’s final scheduled for 3:15 p.m. ET on ESPN. Saturday’s semifinals will be televised on ESPN2, while Friday’s four quarterfinals will be on ESPN2 and ESPNU. ESPNU and ESPNews will provide coverage of Thursday’s three first-round games.

Additionally, all games of the tournament will have national radio distribution by IMG College and will be carried on SiriusXM satellite radio (XM 202, Sirius 218 and 92). Westwood One will have additional national coverage of Sunday’s tournament final. The American Digital Network will provide coverage throughout the week, including postgame press conferences and interviews with coaches and players.

As the No. 1 seed, SMU will play its first game of the tournament March 13 at noon ET, when the Mustangs face the winner of Thursday’s first-round matchup between No. 9-seeded UCF and No. 8-seeded East Carolina.

Tulsa, which fell to SMU in Sunday’s regular-season finale, enters the tournament as the No.2 seed, pairing the Golden Hurricane in a quarterfinal game against the winner of the first-round matchup between No. 10 Houston and No. 7 Tulane.

Cincinnati and Temple finished tied for the third in the conference standings and split their two regular-season meetings. But Cincinnati earned the No. 3 seed in the tournament based on the Bearcats’ two wins against SMU. Cincinnati will face the winner of Thursday’s first-round game between No. 11 USF and No. 6 UConn.

Temple is the No. 4 seed and will face Memphis, the No. 5 seed, in a Friday quarterfinal matchup at 2 p.m. ET.

All 11 American Athletic Conference teams will compete for the league title, including 2014 NCAA champion UConn, which is one of the six conference teams that have reached the NCAA Final Four. The 11 teams that comprise the American Athletic Conference have a combined six NCAA titles, made 22 Final Four appearances, 67 Sweet Sixteen appearances and 173 NCAA tournament appearances.

Thursday, March 12 – First Round (ESPNU/ESPNews)
3:30 p.m. No. 9 UCF (12-17) vs. No. 8 East Carolina (13-18) – ESPNU
6 p.m. No. 10 Houston (11-18) vs. No. 7 Tulane (15-15) – ESPNews
8 p.m. No. 11 USF (9-22) vs. No. 6 UConn (17-13) – ESPNews

Friday, March 13 – Quarterfinals (ESPN2/ESPNU)
Noon UCF/East Carolina winner vs. No. 1 SMU (24-6) – ESPN2
2 p.m. No. 5 Memphis (18-13) vs. No. 4 Temple (22-9) – ESPN2
7 p.m. Houston/Tulane winner vs. No. 2 Tulsa (21-9) – ESPNU
9 p.m. USF/UConn winner vs. No. 3 Cincinnati (22-9) – ESPNU

Saturday, March 14 – Semifinals (ESPN2)
3 p.m. Friday afternoon winners
5 p.m. Friday evening winners

Sunday, March 15 – Final (ESPN)
3:15 p.m. Semifinal winners

all times Eastern