San Francisco Giants' Tim Lincecum throws to first base in effort to catch Chicago Cubs' Ryan Theriot off base in the first inning of a baseball game Friday, Sept. 25, 2009, in San Francisco - AP Photo

Day four of the Baseball Writer’s Association of America Awards continued on Thursday and next up was the National League Cy Young Award.

For the second straight season, the BWAA has chosen everyone’s favorite San Francisco Giants pot smoker Tim Lincecum as their winner of the NL Cy Young. He finished just ahead of  St.  Louis Cardinals pitchers Chris Carpenter and Adam Wainright.

The last time someone won at least two Cy Young’s in a row was  Lincecum’s 2009 teammate Randy Johnson who won four in a row with the Arizona Diamondbacks (1999-2002).

Lincecum went 15-7 with a 2.48 ERA in 32 starts. He struck out 261 in 225.1 innings and also had four complete games, including two shutouts.

He is arbitration-eligible as a Super Two player and is likely to receive a nice chunk of change. I wonder if he’ll buy a bong with that. Kidding folks.

NL Cy Young Award Voting
Player 1st 2nd 3rd Pts.
Tim Lincecum, SF 11 12 9 100
Chris Carpenter, STL 9 14 7 94
Adam Wainwright, STL 12 5 15 90
Javier Vazquez, ATL 1 3
Dan Haren, ARI 1 1

Here is the rest of the schedule of the awards:

  • Mon, November 23 – AL MVP
  • Tue, November 24 – NL MVP