2011 AL Cy Young Award

Justin Verlander

This should come as no surprise to anyone as to who won the American League Cy Young Award presented by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America (BBWAA).

After a dominant season, Detroit Tigers starter Justin Verlander was an unanimous winner of the AL Cy Young. He’s the first starting pitcher from the Tigers to win the award since Denny McLain in 1969. The last winner from the Tigers was Guillermo Hernandez in 1984.

Verlander went 24-5 with a 2.40 ERA in 34 starts. He struck out 250 in 251 innings and had four complete games including two shutouts. Verlander made two starts against the Boston Red Sox and was 1-0 with a 1.72 ERA (3 ER/15.2 IP).

Jered Weaver finished second followed by James Shields and CC Sabathia. Josh Beckett of the Red Sox finished ninth.

Next up in the BBWAA awards will be the AL & NL Managers of the Year tomorrow and the NL Cy Young on Thursday. The final two awards, the AL & NL MVP will be presented next Monday, November 21st (AL MVP) and Tuesday, November 22nd (NL MVP). The 2011 AL & NL Rookie of the Year Awards were presented on Monday.

For a full look at the 2011 AL Cy Young Award voting totals, click on the read more button below if you’re on the home page.

Player Team 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th Points
Justin Verlander Tigers 28 160
Jered Weaver Angels 17 8 2 1 97
James Shields Rays 5 9 8 3 66
CC Sabathia Yankees 5 7 9 4 63
Jose Valverde Tigers 1 3 6 3 28
C.J. Wilson Rangers 1 7 9
Dan Haren Angels 1 1 2 7
Mariano Rivera Yankees 4 4
Josh Beckett Red Sox 3 3
Ricky Romero Blue Jays 1 2
David Robertson Yankees 1 1

Follow Ian on Twitter @soxanddawgs. And be sure to like us on Facebook as well.

Photo credit: Getty Images