UConn Women’s Basketball 1995 NCAA Championship Team To Be Honored

1994-95 UConn Women's Basketball Team

Here is a press release from the University of Connecticut athletic department concerning the “Huskies of Honor.”

STORRS, Conn. (October 30, 2008) -The 1994-1995 University of Connecticut women’s basketball team, which won the 1995 NCAA National Championship and posted a perfect 35-0 overall record, will be inducted into the “UConn Huskies of Honor” recognition program on November 16.

The “Huskies of Honor” program, which pays visible tribute in the Harry A. Gampel Pavilion to the top individual and team achievements in UConn men’s and women’s basketball history, was launched in 2006.

The inaugural class of UConn women’s basketball “Huskies of Honor” who were recognized in December 2006 included 10 First Team All-Americans and Hall of Fame head coach Geno Auriemma.

The honoring of UConn’s unbeaten 1995 National Championship team will be the first induction of an entire team (players and coaches) into Connecticut’s “Huskies of Honor” program.

The return to Gampel Pavilion of Connecticut’s 1995 National Champs will take place on Sunday, November 16, when the UConn women’s basketball team hosts Georgia Tech in a 2 p.m. non-conference match up.

At the ceremony on November 16, a four-by-five foot panel will be unveiled, heralding Connecticut as the 1995 NCAA Division I National Champion in women’s basketball. In addition to the large panel honoring the team that will be displayed adjacent to the scoreboard on the East end of Gampel Pavilion, the team will also have a plaque unveiled that will be on permanent display on the lobby level of Gampel Pavilion. The plaque will include a group photo of the 13 players and four coaches who will be inducted as a “Huskies of Honor” national championship team.

The 1994-95 Connecticut Women’s Basketball team put collegiate women’s basketball on the national map. After posting a spotless 26-0 regular season record and winning the Big East Conference regular season title with an 18-0 mark, UConn added the Big East Tournament crown and entered the NCAA Tournament 29-0. Connecticut then added six NCAA tournament victories, including a 70-64 triumph over Tennessee in the NCAA National Championship game at the Target Center in Minneapolis.

In posting its perfect 35-0 record, the 1994-95 UConn women’s basketball team recorded an NCAA record average winning margin of +33.2 points per game. UConn also led the nation in field goal percentage shooting (50.7%) and field goal percentage defense (31.5%).

Head Coach Geno Auriemma was honored as National Coach of the Year and Senior Rebecca Lobo was named the National Player of the Year.

The 17 members of the 1994-95 team who will be inducted as a group into the “Huskies of Honor” program on November 16 include: Head Coach Geno Auriemma, Associate Head Coach Chris Dailey, Assistant Coach Tonya Cardoza, Assistant Coach Meghan Pattyson, Co-Captain Rebecca Lobo, Co-Captain Pam Webber, Jill Gelfenbien, Kim Better, Jamelle Elliott, Jennifer Rizzotti, Carla Berube, Sarah Northway, Missy Rose, Kara Wolters, Kelley Hunt, Brenda Marquis, Nykesha Sales.

The inaugural class of UConn women’s basketball greats inducted into the “Huskies of Honor” program in December of 2006 included: Stevlana Abrosimova, Kerry Bascom, Sue Bird, Swin Cash, Rebecca Lobo, Shea Ralph, Jennifer Rizzotti, Nykesha Sales, Diana Taurasi, Kara Wolters, Head Coach Geno Auriemma.